The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Sunset spire

The days are getting longer, the sun is setting later and there is time for a good walk in the light at the end of another day living in a building site.  As I walked down from the Park, the sun was just setting below the spire of St Edith's.  It's difficult to find a good place to photograph the church spire, almost every angle has power lines across it or trees in front.  But this view at least is unobscured, and at this time of year the sun descends behind it.

I didn't set out with the intention of taking this photo.  My objective after a walk to the top of Worsendale was to photograph kites over the Park.  By then, I thought we had lost the sun for the day to the cloud in the west.  I did see a kite several times, but it's becoming clear to me that once one sees me (and they do always see me first), they keep a safe distance.  Is that the effect of life in a landscape where there are gamekeepers and active shoots?  I don't know, it seems like they are tolerated, and they do provide a clean-up service, but they are less approachable than in some places.

Descending down through the Park, I came across an Alice Cooper lookalike (see extra).

A good weather day with no rain.  The builders have finished paving round the back of the extension, we met Paul and Andy this morning who are going to do the painting, the dehumidifiers are definitely helping, and I made more progress with the pallet mountain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.