TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

Last leg of the trip

I’m not sure if it was the foie gras or the several bottles of wine and additional beer, but I had an appalling night’s sleep. I heard Tim get up to go to the gym around 6, at which point I managed to drop off. We’d decided the previous night that I would get an Uber to the airport, and at the appointed hour, a young Tunisian driver called Najib turned up. Not sure that it was the best solution, because it had started raining quite heavily overnight, and the roads were slick. As everywhere in the world, the first hint of inclement weather means people forget to drive, so the 25-minute trip ended up taking me around 45 minutes.

Spent too much time at LYS in the exorbitant Alpage café. I managed to get my suitcase under the allotted 23kg (by some 100g), so at least I am only walking like a mule and not walking like a mule but significantly poorer.

The flight was uneventful: spent it watching older films and a couple of Ted Lassos. Arrived in Montréal and sailed through customs, then a quick 25-minute flight to Ottawa, where Mrs Ottawacker was waiting with Ottawacker Jr. As much as I love France and Spain, it’s nice to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.