My kind of mall

I realize I have been to more malls this year that I had been to in all my 25 years of living in Ottawa. You see, I hate malls - mainly because I hate people - but I am beginning to realize that it is malls with people that I hate most of all. Malls by themselves are mildly tolerable. In small doses. 

I had to pick up a surprise future birthday present for Mrs. Ottawacker. We have a tacit agreement between us that we don't exchange birthday gifts (both of us have more than enough). I stick to this agreement by always getting her a gift. She sticks to this agreement by sticking to the agreement. The Danish are so effing literal.

So into Bayshore I went. It was, as it often is these days, only sparsely populated. It opens at 9 - and I am always there before 9.30. That way, I get to avoid the geriatric mall rats; the families from Carp coming in to see what a Big City is like; and the window lickers who seem to be outside every potential store of interest.

Vive le misanthrope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.