Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The castle on the crag

We woke to a beautiful sunny morning, the first one for a while, after a light frost. The sun shone all day, though the sky did get a little hazy later. 

I spent some time this morning trying to book a rail ticket for my week in London in April. 'Trainsplit' is a good way of getting reduction on the cost of a ticket, but eventually my confused brain gave up. Mrs M had a go too, but also found it confusing - I'll have to consult the younger generation!

After lunch we drove along to Dunstaffnage Castle, just a few miles up the coast near Dunbeg. It's one of the oldest stone castles in Scotland, built around 1220, on top of a massive outcrop of rock and now largely ruined. We didn't go into the castle having done so before,, but enjoyed a walk around it and down to the shore. 

Beautiful views of Ben Cruachan too, across the water, which is my extra today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.