Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tough Guy

No secret that I like the white-breasted nuthatches that frequent our woods and garden.  In addition to hanging upside down, zipping down tree trunks head first, making amusing "yank-yank" noises, but they also have the most adorable aggression displays which involve raised feathers along the back and neck, much like the hackles on a dog.  This one is not in full hackle mode, but it's enough to see the terrifying specter that he must present to another of his kind.  Okay, maybe "terrifying" is too strong a word.  But you get the idea.  

We FaceTimed with Mom and Dad this morning and then took Jax for a nice long snifari-walk.  I'm feeling a little overwhelmed by life right now so the sunshine and fresh air did me some good.  And once the sun started to get lower, I put my hide up and spent some time communing with nature.  

If you've never battled depression, congratulations consider yourself fortunate!  On the other hand, if you, like me, have stared down the barrel of "the dark place" then you will understand how very unsettling it can be.  It makes it very hard to put one foot ahead of the other some days.  Most of the time, I can manage it, and some days it gets a little ahead of me.  Time for some pet cuddles and a little self-care!

And definitely something dark today, of the chocolatey kind.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.