The Joy of Fish!

Powerful, punishing thunderstorms moved through central Pennsylvania on Tuesday late in the afternoon, and it rained some more overnight, so when I woke up on Wednesday, everything was wet. Everywhere. Everything. Drenched.

The sun was trying to break through the haze as I drove to work, and so I thought I would pop by the lily pond to catch some surface reflections of the morning drama of sun on water. A favorite scene.

When I got to the lily pond, the fish were having a real party! Some of them were swimming all around; others were hanging out near the surface, opening their mouths and making little tiny "gloop"ing sounds as they crested.

First I wondered what that sound was. Then I realized it was the orange fish, apparently orchestrating some new kind of percussive entertainment at the lily pond. Or maybe just fish celebrating the joy of being fish on a summer morning!

And so our song to accompany this vivid scene is the Three Dog Night classic, Joy to the World. The song seems to celebrate Jeremiah, the bullfrog, but in this case, let's celebrate . . . FISH!

Joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea!
Joy to you and me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.