Holy Kitten Chaos! Meet Pepe and Pelee!

One of my closest friends told me that she and her husband were planning a trip out West this spring to visit their daughters, one in Colorado and one in California. And after they returned home, they planned to adopt a kitten. I remember commenting at the time that a local kitten rescue that I support, the Orphaned Kitten Program, or OKP, had some real cuties.

I mercilessly reshared photos of the latest OKP kitties with my friend on Facebook. And was I ever delighted when they returned from vacation and my friend informed me they had picked out not just one but TWO adorable OKP kitties from the same litter. Meet Pepe, a little black and white tuxie boy, and Pelee, his gray and white sister!

I asked my friend's permission to come by their house after the kittens had settled in to meet and greet them and take a few (or many!) pictures. And so on Thursday after work, I stopped by their house and met the new arrivals. The timing was very good, as earlier in the day, I had received some sad news, and there is nothing to uplift the spirits of a crazy cat lady than a visit with new kittens.

It was total kitten chaos! The kittens were two small bundles of pure furry energy, chasing each other, playing, attacking each other's tails. Young as they were, they already knew the traditional "butt-wiggle of doom," which occasionally preceded a spontaneous POUNCE!

I took many photos but the kittens were so energetic and full of motion that most of the shots were just fuzzy blurs. Oh well, there will be plenty of time for sleeping as they get older. My friend fed the kitties their evening meal and I got to observe (and hear) the nom-nom-nomming of two kittens very intent on consuming their food. What good appetites!

I selected this photo to post here because I enjoyed the pure crazed look on Pepe's little face. By Pelee's body language, it almost appears as though he has startled or scared his sister, but I know from being there in person that it wasn't actually so. After Pepe made this face, Pelee seized the occasion to pounce on him and wrestle him down. A fair amount of rolling and bunny-kicking ensued. The little stuffed bear that they sleep with lay forgotten on the floor nearby.

My friend admitted that this is the first that she has gotten two kitties at once, and I suspect that she has her hands full. And the song I've chosen to accompany this Blip is in honor of there being TWO kitties, not just one. Yes, two purveyors of furry chaos! World, watch out! The song: The Beatles, Two of Us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.