Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sourdough making 101

Hello blipmates, I am back after a longer break than anticipated.  Neck is fine although still a bit niggly.   I had NBN fibre to the premises installed and the modem was moved so instead of using ethernet to connect my main computer I now have to use wifi.   Work laptop, phone, my laptop and every other device that uses wifi is fine but not the main computer.   Lots of curses and talking blah blah blah to the provider techy has got me nowhere so it might be a call to apple soon to see what modem will give me better results.   All is well today but boy can it turn in a second.  I think I am going to call it Mr Hyde.

Anyhoo, other things have been happening too but I won't bore you with all those details.

Today I am making a fruit and nut sourdough loaf.   From left to right is the flour, cinnamon and salt being added to the starter and water mix.  The middle is the first mix which you leave for an hour waiting for the magic to happen and the last is after the walnuts and raisins were added and six stretches and folds later.  At the moment it is doing a final proof, I am going to bake it tonight rather than leave in the fridge to prove overnight.  I did that last week and had for the first time ever a fail.  I haven't worked out what I did wrong but something was off.

I think that will satisfy the theme of textures.  There are lots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.