Tea & Sympathy [Surrogate Blip by Carl]

We should have been in Berlin today celebrating Carl's birthday, instead of which I was back in a general ward, a step lower than High Dependency. I had to ask several times between 9.00 and noon for the return of my mobile phone. Once back connected with the outside world I had a reasonably good day, managing to move between bed and chair a few times. I think there was still a trace of morphine hanging around n my system, because I was feeling a bit grumpy and sorry for myself from time to time, and still a bit reluctant to close my eyes in case weird demons came visiting. All in all, though, it was a good day of progress, and lots of tubes and drains and feeds and stuff were whipped out.

Instead of the planned birthday celebration in Berlin, Carl had been busy flitting here there and everywhere in his capacity as surrogate blipper. Looking through things that evening we instantly agreed that this would be today's blip (taken in Merrion Square during the Street Performance World Championships), even though later on when it came to actually uploading I was veering more towards these birds waiting for news of Dublin Shooter's progress. One thing we did agree about though, is that Carl has absolutely no intention of becoming a full-time blipper, since he found the pressure of the past few days too much altogether.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.