CrocusMan

By TonyG

Kabschia Saxifrage

A little plant that I bought from the Aberconwy Nursery stand at the AGS show at Pershore.  Saxifraga Allendale Bonny.  It's certainly bonny :-)   Allendale refers to the 'stable' they were bred in by legendary grower Ray Fairburn.   This group of plants, with their tight mats of foliage, are happiest in relatively cool sites and shaded from the strong summer sunshine.  They need good light though and some sunshine.  A fine balance.  This one will stay in a pot in my greenhouse which has 50% shade netting from April to September.   The whole plant is under two inches across at present but they can make sizeable mats under ideal conditions.

A sunshiny day :-)   Morning saw me finishing off glazing my collection of mostly small vases at pottery.   After a bit of admin and lunch, I popped over to Jamie's to sort new starter paperwork for the lady who is to be his main PA.  Seems the first session went very well and plans have been made for more :-)

Back home I quickly packed for a night away, snapped this pic and set off for Ruth's.  A meeting there tomorrow.  En route I stopped to give Meg a short run at the ball field and at the Windmill, which is half way, for a cuppa and a chat.   A full, varied and pleasant kind of day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.