Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Anniversary

Today has been a difficult day for me. It is exactly two years since my father died from a Covid-19 infection and here I am in his home sorting things out for the charity shops and recycling centre. This photograph reminds me of happier days. It must have been taken sometime in the late 1950s showing my father being a 'new man' long before the term was invented. We lived in a caravan until I was five years old (due to the post war housing shortage) so I think this was taken at my grandparents' terraced house in St Budeaux, Plymouth. I recognise some of the items on the dresser in the background. It was almost certainly taken by my grandfather who was a keen photographer and would have been developed in his 'dark room' which was a shed at the end of the garden. I still have the teddy bear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.