Living my dream

By Mima

Jam

I am steadily working my way through the basket and buckets of produce that I picked last week for the Show: the things that made the grade and those that didn't. 

So far I've made three different soups, lasagne, four varieties of curry, two dips, and a risotto. All are being slotted into the freezer. I am about half way through.

In addition yesterday I needed to harvest all but four of the sweetcorn. Normally I prefer to freeze them still wrapped in leaves, but space is at a premium, so I peeled all 35 before putting them into the freezer. Unlike most veg, corn freezes well when it is raw which saves a heap of time.

And in addition to my own crops, I am picking at G's while she is away for a couple of weeks, and processing things to go into her freezer and fridge. Consequently first thing this morning I chopped up courgettes and onions to make a big container of soup for her. And I chopped strawberries to add to boysenberries to make a soft 'fridge jam' - an excellent Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall recipe.

Thank you for all the lovely comments and stars for Bean yesterday. Time is short at the moment, so my responses will be tardy (if you're lucky).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.