Living my dream

By Mima

Surprises

The day began with the first surprise: the sound of chainsawing from my neighbours’ place where the workmen had returned unannounced (to anybody) to finish removing trees. It looks awfully bare now, although I’m sure I’ll get used to it. But will they?!

The second surprise was as Bean and I walked around Cape Wanbrow. Out at sea there was an area of disturbance in the water, with regular splashes and the occasional flash of a curved body leaping out. A large pod of dolphins was circling and presumably feeding on a shoal of fish. It was too far away to photograph. I stood watching for 10 minutes in the sun, feeling privileged to witness the sight.

Surprise number three was when I popped into the A&P Show office to pick up my vegetable entry winnings: $13 I guessed. $56 in fact. How wonderful. That’s three weeks’ food for Bean.

The final surprise of the day was getting home from town and deciding not to do much for the rest of the day. I had a list of jobs, all of which have been shunted to tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.