Living my dream

By Mima

Remnants

There is little that remains to hint that there was once a railway line through Ngapara, let alone a station.

Most of the year there is no evidence at all. However, sheep have been grazing the area of woodland which now covers the former station and out of the undergrowth has appeared this piece of platform. Another short platform made from bricks lies about 100m to the west and there are old Totora wood buffers just about standing still. The main passenger platform is long gone.

From 1887 to 1930 the railway line operated between Oamaru and Tokarahi and was used to transport wheat, flour, coal and people to town; supplies and people back inland.

I would love to have a functioning line these days, but the route has almost entirely been consumed into farmland, and none of the rolling stock, nor the stations remain.

Bean did her job today, albeit a bit late. She reminded me at 2.30 that I was having the afternoon off.

I did as I was told.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.