The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Recent Acquisitions (Wednesday 28th February 2024)

My ancient PC has been becoming increasingly unusable as its OS can't cope with more recent versions of browsers like Firefox, or let me view Sky e-mails or X (formerly Twitter) at all, or images properly on Flickr. I'd delayed updating due to worries about being able to still access my old DOS-based programs, but eventually I caved in and bought a second-hand PC tower running the current version of Windows. Today I got it set up and connected to the internet, and the plan will be to gradually transfer external drives, apps, files and programs to the new PC.

It is using the same monitor as it uses a different type of cable (HDMI). It is very different, and will take a while to get used to, I'm sure. If all is successful, the old PC will be taken offline and used for back-up purposes.

In Blip this will mean, for example, that I'll be able to add to the map directly (I currently have to switch to a Macbook or to my iPad to do this). I suspect there will be many snags along the way.

L.
Wednesday 28.2.2024 (1811 hr)

Blip #4040 (#3790 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2024 #024/266 + #007/100 Extras
Day #5088 (1240 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3179 (#3019 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Recent Purchases series
Workstation series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Sigma AF 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Them - Here Comes the Night (recorded October 1964, Decca Studios, London)
Them: Van Morrison (vcl), Billy Harrison (gtr, vcl), Peter Bardens (kbds), Alan Henderson (bass, vcl) with Phil Coulter (kbds), Jimmy Page (rh gtr), Andy White (dr)
What is the connection between Hang On Sloopy, Piece Of My Heart, Twist And Shout and Here Comes The Night? They were all composed by the great Bert Russell Berns, whose musical story has been collected on three albums on the Ace label that I am currently exploring. He came to London to produce records on three occasions including in October 1964 when he made two versions of this song, one by Lulu, which came out first but didn't trouble the charts at the time, and this one, held over until March 1965 when it soared up the charts. The line-up of Them was constantly changing but as far as I can research is correct for the above listing, including the session musicians. On compilations it usually appears in a stereo mix, but as the original single was in glorious mono, that is the mix I have linked to here. For details of the original Lulu version, see my Blip of 14 June 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.