SimtuCrostines

By SimtuCrostines

Moony Expression

I saw this person on the station platform while I was waiting for my train to leave. They were staring up a bit, and because it was dark outside their face was lit by the white light from the platform canopy. I doodled them from memory afterwards and tried to add the dark clouds against a lighter sky I saw from the train as a background.

I'd gone to London in the day to see the Entangled Pasts exhibition at the Royal Academy. I thought it was a good way of exploring the institution's own history, while promoting more modern artists. It seemed quite reserved, "academic" I guess, but I appreciate that it didn't resort to sensationalism. Instead, there was a lot of retrospective celebration of people who were marginalised or more or less completely dehumanised. For example, the vibrant reverence of the rooms of life-size cutout characters by Lubaina Himid, where you can also walk around to see the dull reverse side, featuring an accounting sheet on each.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.