Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Water, water ...

When I was a child, spending every summer holiday - all eight weeks of each one - on Arran, I became accustomed to those days, even in summer, when the rain enveloped the island and we all went out in waterproofs and wellies and we and the other children in the row of houses where we stayed would play in the woods and in a cave-like hole in the middle of a huge rhododendron and pay no heed to the weather. But it was in memory of these days that my father always denoted a truly wet day at home in Glasgow "a real Arran stinker." This, I have to say, was one such day. 

The photo above is the only one I took all day, and I took it solely to have something to blip. It's the view from my bedroom window - yes, that window with the views of hills and Firth, that window through which I can see for miles ... today I could see no further than halfway to the golf course and even that was hidden by a multitude of raindrops on the window. 

We spent a great deal of this unspeakable day trying to sort out the details we needed for the substitute holiday we booked when our last one was cancelled. Part of it involved actually tracking down and printing the insurance for this trip prior to binning the last lot; in medias res the printer jammed and had to be sorted (Himself does that bit). My main horror was trying to find out what vaccine was used in my last Covid jag, because the cruise company (American) still want to know, apparently. I've had endless bothers trying to access my information on the NHS Scotland page, simply because it says my password is wrong (it was on my keychain, so I don't get it). Eventually I managed to phone a human bean, a very patient man, and after several mishaps with strange windows from Microsoft popping up (I don't use Microsoft) we managed to get into my record. The loss of the NHS app hasn't made life any easier when you want to check this stuff. 

So that's how we spent most of this rainy day. Later we went out to acquire some cash (it's amazing how seldom I actually need it these days) and walked round to the west bay before coming home, totally drookit. And in the traditional way I then felt justified in cooking and eating dinner.

After Compline, I treated myself to another episode of Trigger Point. Nothing like a bit of recreational tension before you go to bed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.