Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Always look on the bright side ...

Darn. Now I'll have that ear worm all night ... Today I decided it was time I stopped trying to behave as if I was on a permanent holiday (reading, doing Italian, going for walks, singing) and pretend to be a housewife instead. Housewives, after all, do housework ... don't they? Anyway, this morning was the time we'd designated for defrosting the freezer, so as soon as I'd finished breakfast I was trailing up and down stairs with cool bags and depositing lumps of frozen food in the fridge or - the overspill - in the chilly porch. I should perhaps explain that our freezer is on the top landing, because my kitchen is tiny, a Victorian brick-built extension to our house, also Victorian, which was divided from our neighbours' house ten years after the block of two identical houses was built. Then there would have been a big kitchen, and an outhouse in the garden containing a washhouse and perhaps also a loo, as I can't see where there would otherwise have been one. (The current bathroom is above the kitchen.) Anyway, it's inconvenient when it comes to defrosting; I was up and down that stair more times than I can count before lunchtime. 

When I'd finished mopping up (what a lot of water from a relatively small quantity of ice!) I popped out to get some items (yogurt, for example) that my weekend away had left me short of; I was caught in a downpour as I left the supermarket and was well soaked by the time I'd finished. We had our usual early meal because of choir - except that I'd forgotten to get ready-mixed fajita spices and used harissa spices instead: quite successful with a sprinkle of extra chilli flakes). And then I fell asleep in front of the telly and felt I couldn't move again ...

But I did. There were three people missing from choir, but the four remaining had an excellent rehearsal which ended in the complete collapse in giggles of the two second altos, giggles infectious enough to have all of us joining in like a class of 14 year old girls ... a great burst of endorphins to end a tiring day. 

My collage is of two bright things from today: the daffodils I found growing on the shore at Loch Striven the other day, and the vegetables beginning their journey into our fajitas. I didn't really have time for any more photos ...

And the freezer is still trying to reach its desired temperature. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.