There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Have You Ever Seen the Rain?

A great big sprawling weather system moved through on this day, and rain and thunderstorms were followed by huge wind gusts that rattled the rafters and bent the trees. By day's end, there was even snow in some spots on the weather map; but we didn't actually see any here.

When I saw a small break in the rain in mid-morning, I grabbed my umbrella and walked up to my favorite pond. It was full to bursting with water, and open for some mighty fine reflections. The occasional raindrop fell, and the trees were dripping, making amazing concentric patterns on the surface.

While walking around the pond, I saw my first amphibian of the season! How awesome! I wish I had spotted it BEFORE it hopped, but my eyes didn't pick it out from ground. In two quick jumps, it was in the water, gone and disappeared. My best guess is that it was a wood frog, as we get lots of those in vernal ponds here.

The far end of the pond has some marvelous colors for those water surface abstract reflection shots I love to make, and so I really went to town. I took a whole bunch of shots, and I have yet to go through them all, so here's a favorite first look.

We've got shades of rose and lavender and green here, and they are all super-saturations of colors that actually exist there. I've got a water bubble in the top left, looking cute and authentic. You can actually see water flying off the top of it from where that specific raindrop fell. SPLURK! Cool!

I'll bet you knew what my soundtrack song was before you got this far! Here's Joan Jett, with a very fine cover of the CCR hit Have You Ever Seen the Rain. Oh, and here's a bonus Belinda Carlisle cover as well, which I just stumbled across for the first time and am listening to now! You go, girls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.