Porcupine Encounter in the Barrens

There was snow on the ground and it was lightly raining when I left for my walk. I knew the snow wouldn't last, as temperatures were expected to warm up in the afternoon, so I got out early to be sure to get some pictures.

Conditions were drippy, slushy, and slippery in the woods. Between the snow dropping from the trees and the rain, there was so much action on the first pond that the water almost seemed to be bubbling! Patterns and circles galore!

The second pond was slushy and strange, a pointillist's dream. The third pond was likewise slushy and grainy, and when I looked across the pond and up, I thought I saw a spiky creature. Was that a wild thing, surveying me from the other side of the pond?

It was, in fact, a porcupine. So here is a photo of the porcupine who lives in the porcupine tree by the third pond. It was apparently high time that we met, as I have noticed its scat both in that tree and nearby for some time now.

I took my camera and walked all around so I could get some photos. I showed the pictures to my husband and he said the porcupine looks like a Wookiee. (Why, yes, we've been watching Star Wars; can you tell?)

So let's let this Blip be a celebration of a wild encounter in the Scotia Barrens. Hello, porcupine, and well met. Wild thing, you make my heart sing! My soundtrack song is the Troggs, with Wild Thing.

P.S. On a more personal note, this marks my two-year "walkiversary." I have been walking every day since February 28, 2021. I have substituted a swim or a bike ride on occasion, but mostly, I have walked. And when I walk, I get to see things like this!!! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.