Munni

By Munni

Muottas Muragl

This mountain restaurant with its funicular railway has always been a highlight of my visits in this area. It also offers access to beautiful hiking trails in summer and even in winter - on compacted snow, with strategically placed benches at the most scenic spots. 

I hadn’t planned to go up there first thing in this holiday, as the trails are at 2400 - 2700 m altitude and I usually take it easy on my first day, to get acclimatized. But the weather forecast for the next few days isn’t great, so I had to take this chance today, and as early as possible. 

It was glorious. I was up there with the second train, and walked about 15,000 steps - in sunshine for about two hours, and then under light clouds that drew in from the South. The snow glittered like billions of diamonds, and there was very little wind, so I was warm enough in just a t-shirt for the uphill part of the hike. 

It feels different to walk in snow that gives way under every step, and I expect some muscles to be sore tomorrow. But it was definitely worth it.

The main blip: a panoramic view from the restaurant. The extra collage: one of many paragliders starting from there, the sheer power of white and blue, the inviting benches (complete with blankets!), and a view of the opposite slope where an avalanche had gone down. I’m seeing a profile in the outline, can you see it too?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.