PandaPics

By pandammonium

In the workhouse

Wisbech library held a talk about their old workhouse today. I have a closet fascination with workhouses, so I went.

I thought there’d be maybe half a dozen people – as did the bloke who gave it. When I got there, only just on time thanks to delays, it was standing-room only. I was standing almost at the room divider halfway down the room, where I took this photo; behind me, there were as many, if not more, people again as there are in the photo, and there are more people sitting down the left side of the room out of shot.

Apparently, poor relief was historically the responsibility of the Church, so when the monasteries were dissolved by Henry VIII, the Church didn’t have enough resources to help the poor. And that’s when the trouble began.

I enjoyed the talk, and ended up buying a copy of the bloke’s book afterwards.

To get to the front of the room to buy the book, I had to go out the door at the back of the room and in the one at the front, which meant I had to pass the bookshelves. You know I can’t not look at books; the first one I saw grabbed me, and I almost got absorbed in it before I remembered I was supposed to be buying the workhouse book.

I know you’re dying to know what the book that grabbed my attention was. Well, you know how I’m obsessed by East Anglian village signs? The book is called Village signs of North Cambridgeshire!

It’s got pictures of the signs and some text about each village and its sign. Some villages and their signs have more text than others, but it’s all fascinating. It’s a bit out of date, though: my village’s sign is completely different now. I wonder how many village signs have been erected since the book was published. Is it time for a new edition?

I wondered whether, if I borrowed it, I’d be allowed to return it to my local library or would I have to return it to Wisbech library. Long story short, I can return it to any Cambridgeshire library except Peterborough (I didn’t ask why not), and now my account is absolutely definitely renewed, even though I renewed it online a month or so ago.

After all that, I had a wander round the shops, and picked up a top and a skirt to wear with my red stilettos. I went to a pound shop and picked up a couple of lipsticks for a pound each. All I need now is a few accessories, and I’ll be sorted.

I went to Tesco after that. The vet rang while I was there. Apparently, I hadn’t paid for the urine test. Oops!

Mr Perkins has to go back anyway, so I made an appointment for next week, and said I’d pay it then.

This evening , it was running group for all members who weren’t ill, injured or afraid of rain. That amounted to four of us, including the run leader. I wouldn’t care, but the rain finally stopped by the time we met up.

I suspect given the amount of rain we’ve had during the week so far that parkrun will be cancelled again this weekend. I’ll have to find another one to go to.

Mr Pandammonium knows me well: he asked if I’d have to go and visit all of the village signs in the book. Yes, of course I do.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.