Second-time-around

By Skysea7

A tree with some Sea

It’s hard to try and get a whole tree in a photo without lots of distracting detail. Hopefully you can make out the sea in the background, plus a bit of Charlestown harbour. There were gale force winds overnight and really heavy showers during the day.

Since the diabetic drug OZEMPIC became unavailable last August, I have been struggling to get a substitute. I finally got some Trulicity, but it is running out nationally. I found a new chemist who said they had some, and I have been using it. But my surgery’s prescribing team yesterday refused to renew my prescription, which meant I would have none! Their reasoning was that it is ‘dangerous’ to use the medication intermittently when there are times when the chemist can’t get it. They relay such information in texts which cannot be replied to!

I fought back and said surely it’s more ‘dangerous’ to just suddenly STOP taking the medication.. I won and was then offered a newer drug which has only just been released. I should have it next Wednesday. My diabetic consultant recommended it when I saw him on January 2nd. It hadn’t been released by then. He said it would only take 3 weeks for his report with recommendations for this new drug and different insulin to reach my GP surgery. It took longer. I had to keep phoning his secretary - the report was typed in mid January but he didn’t sign it until today! What’s the point of a Consultant with vast knowledge of the most suitable treatments if he takes two months to check and sign a letter? It’s now ‘in the post’. I don’t think the NHS has caught up with emails yet!

Sorry, that went on a bit. I needed to say it for my own records!

Talking of records, the weatherman said that Cornwall had more than twice its usual rainfall in February. There have been very few days when it was totally dry for a whole day!

Petrol has gone up by 10p a litre in the last two weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.