cindy_ellis

By cindy_ellis

Wishing stones

I collect them and pass them on to folks who need a little 'pick me up!" I suppose it would be better to find your own but who really knows. As you can see I am a collector of many things. Always beach glass but I have found a new gem. The center of the oyster shell. This smooth shell glistens when the sun hits it and has a pearl like finish. I think I will use it for the tiles on a birdhouse roof. Maybe the sides I'm not sure but I'm sure it will look sharp when I get around to it. There are a few fossilized oyster shells (top R) and the shark teeth hubby found. We had a great day of hunting and Sugar slept like a baby all evening and night.
Legend has it that if you find a rock with a white or pink line all around it, you have found a Wishing Stone. The stripe is usually quartz or calcite. If you trace your finger around the line while closing your eyes and making a wish, then throw the stone into the sea as far as you can or give it to another person, your wish will come true. Make a wish on behalf of a person other than yourself; then ALL your wishes come true. The very best Wishing Stone has a single continuous line wrapping around it, a line unbroken and uninterrupted by other lines or streaks.
Rock&Gem

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.