MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Vestibular Schwannoma Patient Information Day

This morning the rain was torrential and with strong winds it was horizontal at times. A brolly was useless unless you fancied taking off like Mary Poppins. I got PWT bringing in the recycling containers and opening the drive gates before I even set off. 
I drove to Leigh Park and Ride - conditions were hazardous on the East Lancs with lots of standing water and people driving like loonies.
Arrived at the Park & Ride unscathed and there was a geocache there I wanted to grab but the weather was awful so I thought forget it. I walked the short distance to the Guided Busway stop with my hood up but the driving rain soaked me through and even in the shelter (inverted L shape) the rain was pelting everyone wherever we stood and whatever direction we faced!
The V1 bus to Manchester was on time and I was cold to the bone so was glad to get on but there was no heating on it - still, it was warmer than being outside. 
I had no idea how I would know when to get off as I wouldn't recognise my stop, the driver had no idea and the passengers I asked were also clueless. Google maps came to my rescue and I managed to get off at the right place.
It was still chucking down and blowing a gale plus it felt even colder than in Leigh. I went to the Emmeline Pankhurst statue (I was passing nearby) to do the Virtual cache there and was shivering when I finished. off I went to head for the venue but passing an adventure lab stage - but then I realised I'd missed an ad lab stage at the Pankhurst statue!
Oh no - back I went, not sure if I was mad and then headed back to the Friends Meeting House one which was easy to do. I had time but no inclination to do any more caches of any type as I was shivering badly and thought I was heading for hypothermia!
Went the wrong way (typical) so overshot the Free Trade Hall (well it's not called that now but I still refer to it as that) and ahd to backtrack. There is a covered outdoor part at the front so I waited there for Karen and walked up and down to try to warm up. Karen was a little late but not too bad and it was great to get inside and warm up.
A lovely venue. First stop we did the toilets and then headed for the coffee and cookies. We took our refreshments into the room of the venue and there were quite a lot of people there already.
The event was excellent and it was good to meet others with the same tumours - some had had theirs operated on or had radiotherapy. One chap on our table had had his removed 6 weeks earlier and he looked great. I don't for one minute think that everyone is the same after surgery. Some patients had come from as far as Barrow in Furness. The Manchester Skull Base Centre at Salford Royal Hospital is one of the two best treatment centres in the country for this type of tumour.
At the break I was in the queue for coffee and the lady in front of me turned round and we looked at each and both said, in surprise, "Hello! What are you doing here?!" The lady was my GP in St Helens (she retired a few years ago) for almost 30 years and a wonderful GP. When she retired I was gutted and felt bereaved! It was wonderful to chat to her. She had a good chat to my daughter too as they compared notes, both having a vestibular schwannoma (that's the correct term for it; acoustic neuroma is the commonly used name but is a bit of a misnomer as it's not on the acoustic nerve and it's not a neuroma, but it's easier for a lot of people to say or understand).
I left a little early (only half an hour before it was due to finish) so I wouldn't be home too late or have far to drive in the dark. I hate driving in the dark. Karen was staying to the end and had driven to Manchester from her home in Bolton.
Back at Leigh Park and Ride I grabbed the geocache since the rain had stopped and the wind had eased off.
I was home around half past six, popping for some milk on the way home.
Terry had managed with 1 crutch all day and had been able to manage without use of the perching stool. Yay!
Just a little reflection on the trip - I used to know Manchester very well when I lived in Bury, Accrington and Astley but I barely recognised anywhere today. On the V1 bus out I was glad I hadn't driven in to the city as the traffic queues were horrendous. The Guided Busway is something I've longed to travel on for a few years and it turned out  to be nothing to get excited about but it's certainly a good service and reliable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.