Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Sardane dancing

I noticed this plaque above the tourist office this morning when I was shopping in the market. The Sardane is the traditional Catalan dance which I think is very boring to watch as the dancers just hold hands in a circle, move slightly from one side to the other and make intricate small steps with their feet. They are accompanied by a Cobla band. I am told, though, that it is very difficult to dance well and the step sequences are very complex. More interestingly, during the Second World War, it is said that the Resistance would sit in the mountains with binoculars and the step sequences would convey information to the men. 
I have had a quiet day today following dental surgery yesterday. There were not enough of us to ring the bells for practice with several people away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.