Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Blip

By alfthomas

Derelict DX

My Little Mate
I have a very good friend, Phil, or to give him his proper name Phil O’Sopher. He stands tall in the world, all of four centimetres (appx). He is a very gentle, rueful little chap, even though he is only made of some sort of plastic. He has a sort of sardonic grin, with his left trotter raised to his mouth as if he has thought of something quite funny. He has travelled extensively with me, given his propensity to hide in my bag. When not travelling he sits on my desk, and is a great aid to reminiscence. I see him sitting there grinning and I am reminded  of many shared experiences, i.e.

The smell of drains in Florence
People watching on Las Ramblas in Barcelona
The taste of home produced Limoncella at a restaurant in Lamole
The sounds of a traffic jam in Istanbul
The feel of sensuous fabric when helping SWMBO choose a dress in Helsinki

All of these memories, and many, many more are brought back into my mind when having conversations with my best friend Phil.

Author's Note
For those interested MyLittleMate can be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.