Munni

By Munni

Val Roseg and Wildlife

The day started with more snowfall. After breakfast I could spot gaps in the clouds over Val Roseg (the Roseg valley), so I set out for a walk there, not sure how far I would go. In the end, I walked all the way to the Hotel Roseg and back, about 25,000 steps, and it was never boring, even though the highest peaks stayed hidden in the clouds.

Although I wasn’t alone on the trail, I saw lots of wildlife. Birds everywhere, like nutcrackers in the Swiss pine trees, and dippers near a little river. There was bird food on offer to take and feed the trusting tits, which I did (see extra with the willow tit on my hand). Squirrels ran up and down the trees, and I even managed to take a photo of one. I also saw a chamois feeding in the forest, but it was a little camera shy and showed me only its backside. And, incredibly, there was another bearded vulture flying high above. I wish I had taken a proper camera with me instead of just the phone - the animal pictures aren’t very good, but I will cherish the memories.

Now getting ready for meeting the local blippers. A perfect holiday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.