Munni

By Munni

Last Day in the Snow

Today’s weather forecast was better - dry, and partly sunny in the afternoon. To celebrate this last day of my vacation, I took the bus to Sils-Maria and walked up the Val Fex.

It’s a special place, a valley with small, traditional hamlets, a few organic farms and old guesthouses. I walked to the very last one, the Alp Muot Selvas, which has been renovated very beautifully and turned out to be very popular with cross country skiers. When I arrived at the Alp, every table was taken by mostly German customers, and I went for a light lunch at the Hotel Fex down the hill instead.

On my way back to Sils, the sun came out. That’s when I took the photo in the main blip. The extra collage has cows coming home, the end of the valley near the Alp Muot Selvas, another horse coach to show the height of the snow next to the road, traditional farmhouses, and some paintings on stones that decorated one of those houses.

It was another long hike for me, and after yesterday’s total of 30,000 steps and today’s 25,000, my knees need a break. They will be happy for me to sit in trains all day tomorrow. I can count myself lucky, as the German train drivers will go on strike just one day after I will be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.