Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

WHAT A DIFFERENCE A DAY MAKES!

We had a great service at Church this morning, with some wonderful worship songs, and then our preacher, Maureen Hider, spoke about the importance of prayer.  

She said we shouldn’t just use it when we were in crisis, but should be persistent, pray with passion and use prayer to make intercession for others.  She played a beautiful song at the end, entitled "My Prayer for You" - you can listen to it HERE.  I didn’t know it, but will listen again many times, I’m sure.

After Church, as it was such a beautiful day, we decided to go out for a drive - such a shame that I hadn’t made some sandwiches, but I will do so next time!  We went through Cricklade, which was a thriving town in the late Saxon era and has one of the finest medieval parish churches in Wiltshire.  It has a striking perpendicular tower and you can see it rises high above the town.  We have never actually been inside, so must remedy that very soon.  It is one of only five churches in England dedicated to Sampson, who was a 6th Century Welshman, and Abbot of Caldy and the first Bishop of Dol in Brittany.  I’m sure there will be much of interest there when we do visit.

I thought of Blipper, Mambo, when we stopped for me to take a shot of the small houses in the High Street, because a man walked by with his dog - and I know she loves a dog walker for some of her Blips.

Our next stop was a little way along the road at Blakehill Farm Nature Reserve, which is owned and managed by the Wiltshire Wildlife Trust - it was a former airfield and interestingly, before it became a Nature Reserve, Mr. HCB’s cousin lived there with her family in one of the Nissen huts after the Second World War.  

Mr. HCB had chosen this place to walk (a) because it was such a lovely day - and it was almost like summer, with blue skies, fluffy clouds and warm sunshine - but also (b) because it was quite flat and easy for me to walk.  We met several lovely couples and a man who said he walked there quite a lot, so there was no shortage of people to chat to.  

Also on the site but much further along than we walked is The Oak and Furrows Wildlife Rescue, an animal charity, where sick and injured animals are treated. Apparently, although not open to the public, the centre takes in over 3,000 wildlife casualties and receives between six and seven thousand telephone calls for help and advice.  All this achieved by a dedicated team of people comprising of staff, volunteers, friends and supporters, without whom it would not be possible.  It operates 24 hour Wildlife Rescue Service, 7 days a week, 365 days a year and relies on donations to survive because it doesn’t receive any government funding.

If you are interested in the history of this wonderful site, you can find plenty to read on this wonderful website.  Parking was free, so if you live near and haven't visited, it is worth visiting just for the sheer joy of being out in the open air and enjoying the wonders of nature all around.  I used my Merlin Bird I/D app and on one occasion, at least 8 birds were heard.

As I said, we met several lovely couples, one told us about the hare in one of the fields, so I was glad I had taken my Canon camera with the long zoom lens - and although it’s not a brilliant shot, we saw it - our first Mad March hare!  Perhaps I need to use my “big” camera more - I wouldn’t have got anything at all with my iPhone, because the hare was too far away.

I had to have a shot of Mr. HCB leaning on a gate, nonchalantly, and the sky and clouds were just perfect.  Then I thought we should have a selfie, as it was our first proper outing in the sunshine this year.

On our way back I spotted some daffodils and pussy willows, so they are part of my collage too.  Such a beautiful day, so we made the most of it - so I hope that you have all had a super Sunday too.  

Isn’t it amazing how different we feel when the sun is shining?  Have a great week and remember BE KIND!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.