TrishaR

By TrishaR

Seville Day 2 - The Alcazar

I was up early today, woke about 6:30, had a good sleep. Got washed and dressed and was out around 8:15 for breakfast which was in an old fashioned local Cafe just round the corner from the hotel. In with the locals, coffee con leche, toast and jam.

My time a lot was for the first slot of the day, at 9:30. Best to get an early one before the hoardes arrive.

The Alcazar was absolutely stunning. The architecture, tiles, mosaics and then the most stunning gardens. I’ve been to the Alhambra in Granada, this was on a smaller scale , so beautiful.

I spent around 3 hours here, there was sitting areas under palm trees, orange trees next to fountains and ponds full of goldfish. Enjoyed it so much.

Time for food next and found a nice Cafe down one of the little streets in the old town and had a lovely lunch and another coffee. Sustenance for all the walking!

Today was Andalusia Day, a public holiday and when I arrived at my next attraction, a modern wooden monument that the locals call the ‘mushroom’ there was big parade taking place, lots of flags, music and marching groups. The place was buzzing with activity.

I headed towards the Museum of Fine Arts but it was closed due to the public holiday. I sat in a shady plaza and took a time to just sit and enjoy the vibe of the city, the sunshine and the beauty of the surroundings.

I met a couple in their late 60s I would say, from the borders. We had a good chat. I was amazed when they said they didn’t know how to get around the city that they didn’t use Google maps. I asked him to give me his phone to show him how to use it. They asked how I knew where to go and I said I use the phone. They also asked how I got here and I showed them the Ryanair app for booking flights and how to look up hotels but not sure they took it in. Anyway it was nice meeting them and they are getting my flight back in Friday night so we will meet again.

I decided it was time for an ice cream, it was late afternoon by this time and I decided I’d get an ice cream and walk down by the river before heading back to hotel for a freshen up before my tapas .

It was a lovely walk, the whole area was alive with people enjoying their public holiday. The restaurants in Triana were mobbed so I was hoping I’d get somewhere later. Popped into a shop for some bananas and a yogurt.

Later, found a great wee tapas place and had a seat at the bar and had prawns cooked in garlic butter and fried chicken- so tasty.

Oh just remembered I walked to the bus station about 15 mins from my hotel to check on timetables for my morning bus to Carmona for a day trip. I didn’t find it there as later found it goes from another bus station but did see the stand for the airport bus so it wasn’t a wasted journey!

I was exhausted again! My
Step count was 23,759.

Another superb day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.