TrishaR

By TrishaR

Seville first full day

Backblip

I didn’t sleep too well as I hadn’t set the air con properly.  There wasn’t any instructions and I wrongly guessed the setting.  Wakening at 3:30 with sweat dripping from my forehead (exaggeration), I put on my trousers and top and went down to the reception to speak to the night duty guy to come up and help me cool down the room by fixing the dam air con control panel Hotels are always too hot for us Northern Europeans aren’t they.  Anyway he looked at it and said you have it on heat and pressed the buttons and voila , cool air!  Slept well after that!

I was up at 7, eager to get going and enjoy a full day exploring Seville.  I have been here before for 3 days back in September 2018 but the temps were high 30s and sapped the strength from me we weren’t able to fully enjoy it as we like a good walk and were reduced to snails pace to suit the debilitating heat.  Even in the evening at 8:30 it was still 33.

I emerged from my hotel, the Zenit in Triana, which is over the river from old Seville, crossing the lovely Isobel Bridge.  (The hotel was fully renovated in 2019, just before Bloody Covid.  Staff are lovely too.).

Sun was shining, street was kinda quiet, it’s less touristy in this neighbourhood, the locals going to work and the kids off to school were the ones walking around.  

My first stop was breakfast.  I had a omelette with peppers and bacon on the side with a coffee , the place was pretty busy.  Finished up and took a walk down the big wide pedestrian and cycling area alongside the river.  There are so many proper cycle lanes around Seville and they are well used I noticed.  Lots of joggers, lots of river activity with kayakers,!or whatever that little slim boat thing is them  racing each other.

My first stop was the Museum at Plaza de Toros, the bullring.  I’m not in any way for bull fighting but the actual building is stunning being built in 1761.  The artefacts in it were interesting and all the advertising posters on the wall were fascinating.  The actual ring too was quite beautiful but NOT what happens in it!!  

Time for another coffee which I had in a little Cafe in the street next to the Cathedral, people watching and eating a delicious lemon tart along with a cappuccino, while planning my next explore.

Next up was a walk to the Plaza de España.  Stopped to watch a lady performing flamenco
Beside one of the fountains and then carried on the walk to P de E.  it’s in Parque de Maria Luisa, 34 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens with fountains, statues, mosaics and plenty shady area to sit and take in the beauty.  Listening too to the noisy parakeets!

There was more flamenco being performed at Plaza de España, the picture is of one of the ladies that performed to the accompanying band, all brilliant.  Stopped there for a while sitting on the steps watching. So good to watch their passion for the dance.

Loved walking through the park, met a young girl from Guatemala, who was studying in Paris but on holiday here.  

Heading back to the historic centre I noticed there was a former Tobacco Factory which is now part of the University.  Another architecturally beautiful old building now incorporated into the University.  Interesting to see and all the comings and goings of the students -  what a great place for your studies!

By this time I was getting kinda peckish.  I wander through another little park can’t recall the name and found a table outside at a restaurant and had grilled salmon and chef’s croquettes, thankfully chose the tapas size salmon and accompaniments as it was huge!  Sat there for a while people watching again and enjoying the late afternoon sun.

It’s around 15 mins walk from there back to my hotel in Triana .  Stopped a while on the bridge again to watch the boats, the kayakers and the sun starting to set giving the cathedral and the tower in the distance a golden glow.  Sun sets around 19:15, loving that extra light here.

I walked back to the hotel and sat out on their rooftop bar area looking out over the rooftops.  I had another little walk around Triana which was buzzing with the locals all eating out in the many restaurants and bars.  I love their lifestyle.

Headed back to hotel.  I was weary.  No wonder.  I had walked my feet off with not a lot of sleep!  23,860 steps and 9.72 miles!  Jeez I never stop!

What a brilliant first day in beautiful Seville

Remembering Dad.  Can’t remember the last time I haven’t been to Blackford to lay flowers at his grave on his birthday but he wasn’t far from my thoughts today especially.  He would have been 97.  My dear Dad, first year without Mum here to tell about the flowers, and show her a pic of the grave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.