KathyH58

By KathyH58

Blue jays are back

I haven't seen the blue jays for several days, but they returned this morning. When they showed up I tossed some peanuts onto the deck for them.

The usual Sunday, housecleaning and laundry, then went to brunch. It was raining so I didn't go for a walk. I did take a drive around the Cow Bay loop, but not much to see. It was foggy along the coast.

I typed up a list of rules tonight for the roommate. I will send it off to him later. I also included that I am planning to move to a mini home this summer, so he should start looking for another place sooner rather than later. It is something that I know he will put off doing until the last minute, and he will end up moving in with his mother until she finds him a place again.

We were at a local pub for brunch today, the owner has gotten to know us over the years. She has a great memory for names, once you have been there a couple of times, she calls you by name. We serve ourselves with some things at this pub. Today Vickie picked up the menus and gave them to everyone. When she did that Colleen took her order, then she asked me what I wanted in my omelet. She knows that Vickie and I always order an omelet. She put out orders in, then came back to take all the other orders, so we were served about 10 - 15 minutes before anyone else. Some of the others looked at us. I just laughed and said 'We're privileged'. Colleen, the owner, has cancer. Chemo shrunk it, but didn't get rid of all of it, so now she has to have another treatment once a month for a year. There is a fundraiser being held next Sunday for her, so many of us will attend that after brunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.