YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Flower Friday

Backblip.  A couple of weeks ago I was dashing to catch a bus when a cyclist asked if I could help him. Thought he wanted directions, but then saw his legs were bleeding and he was clutching his chest. I was thinking "heart attack"!  However, he had ridden his bike from Pudsey, and had skidded in St Ives Estate and come off the bike. We deduced that he had probably broken some ribs.  He refused to let me ring an ambulance as his wife was driving over.  His pain was getting worse and I was worried that he might have punctured his lung. A group of walkers came past and 2 said they were retired doctors.  On explaining the situation they said "oh you seem to have the situation in hand.  Cheerio" and off they went!! J the cyclist was more worried about what to do with his bike - very big and heavy.  Tried the old police house - nobody in. Just then A who lives in the cottages opposite the cafe came out and was persuaded to accommodate the bike.  Another passerby helped her to get It into her spare room. J's wife turned up after what seemed an age.  She marched over and gave him a right telling off!  He was 70 and said he was finding hills hard work so had only just acquired the electric  bike - I have a feeling it might now go on the market!  I did say I hoped she would take him straight to A&E as I was concerned about his breathing. I put my number into his phone to sort the bike out later. This was around 1:30 pm.  At 11 pm I got a text from J saying he was still in A&E awaiting the results of a CT scan.  Anyway this lengthy spiel is to explain the reason for this lovely bouquet. J had broken 3 ribs - luckily no lung damage.  It took a while for him to come back with a friend to collect the bike, but when he did he brought lovely M&S flowers for A and I.  Absolutely no need, but they are very pretty! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.