TrishaR

By TrishaR

Seville - last day

I decided to have a hotel breakfast this morning. Which ended up being a waste cos my daughter sent me something from the local newspaper which made me sick to the stomach and I could not eat my breakfast!! Yuk.

Went back upstairs and packed with took about 10 minutes having that small rucksack. I checked out but left the rucksack at the hotel for picking up later in the afternoon.

Usual walk over the river and watching the activity .

I had a full day. First up was the Seville Fine Arts Museum which is the main picture and housed in a 17th century palace. Again the courtyard gardens were stunning with the tiles , the archways , the palm trees and flowers. I was amazed when I went to pay on entry the charge was €1.50! There were some lovely paintings and a lot of religious ones which are t my cup of tea. I really enjoyed walking round this building.

Next was the Flamenco Museum. It’s housed in the old part of Seville and has a flamenco performance nightly. I loved all the very old posters of famous flamenco dancers , the artwork some contemporary and some quite old. The outfits and shoes were fabulous.

I sat and had a coffee and croissant after this, had an interesting conversation with an Australian gentleman and before long it was time for me to go to the cathedral for the entry time. I also had paid for entrance to the Geraldo tower which I wish had not bothered . You were basically going round in circles up a slope following hundreds of people in front and behind you. There was also close by a class of young a hoolkids who were very excited to be out of the classroom and the noise they were making echoed all round the tower . 34 levels later reached the top and the view was good but it’s not the best viewing platform I’ve been on. There was just too many people.

Downstairs had a walk around the cathedral which was massive and interesting but having just been to Barcelona and seen inside the Sagrada I think I was affected by that experience.

I had a sit down at the Amorino Cafe for another coffee and cake, and people watching next to the cathedral. It was another sunny day and was thinking will miss the warm sun.

Went back to the hotel and had a seat and a drink , got my rucksack and went for some Tapas at a nearby restaurant. Another delicious meal. By this time it was time to walk to the bus station. It was 6:30 and time to make my way to the airport. Walked the 15 mins to the bus station for the airport bus. Was glad got it at the station as in the stops from there to the airport there was many people and ended up standing room only.

A quick turnaround at security, a sit down at a charging point , watched some stuff I had downloaded on my I pad. Then through passport control and then awaiting the time for boarding. We were in the plane around 2115 . There was a spare seat between myself and the guy at the wi die which was great for putting my rucksack under the seat and place for my bag in the seat.

Goid flight home. Landed around 2340 . Off the plane into the rain. S was waiting for me at the pick up point it was nice to see him.

Had a wonderful busy time in Seville. It was the perfect city for a solo trip. Beautiful, clean and so much to see and do. Brilliant.

Less steps today - 20,841

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.