a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Gosander

Pretty much a mixed bag of a day really. I decided to try to get some shots of dippers (which have historically been reliable at Youlgreave).

I eventually managed to locate a dipper but the river it was on had a footpath next to it with a steady stream of walkers enjoying the scenery.  The bird is quite hard to get close to but once you've tracked down its patch and favourite perches, you can generally get some shots if you hide and keep still.  But people kept stopping to ask me what I was photographing, or more knowingly, whether I'd seen a dipper, guaranteeing that my attempts to hide behind bits of vegetation were blown.

So I gave up in the end, but here is quite a pretty looking Gosander instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.