David J. Rose

By djrose007

Goodbye Little Car!

It's ok, I've not sold it, although I often think about it because I use my bike more than the MX-5 nowadays. It's when I get in and drive it that I convince myself that despite it sitting out on the drive, and I'm paying tax, insurance, service & MOT annually, fuel and wear and tear, I just love driving it.
Today I drove back home in the Hyundai i20 after dropping the boys at school. Hopped into the MX-5 and off to Halfords Autocentre (they are very good, and a lot cheaper than the main dealer). The recent service and MOT was passed but three observations. 
1 - both rear tyres on the verge of being illegal (tyre tread)
2 - Battery failed the drop test, I knew it was on it's way out anyway.
3 - recommended a brake fluid change. Must admit, after picking it up before they closed this evening, the brakes are a good deal more efficient. 
Took a few misty photos on the half hour walk back home (see collage extra). In one of the photos there's a bus, which to be honest I'm glad I missed the chance of catching it. It's good to have a walk and I'm ashamed that a while ago I said I was going to make it a habit but it lapsed very quickly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.