Bom

By Bom

A Day at Cley

I spent most of the day today at a very cold, grey and windy Cley. I met G this morning for a circular walk down to and along the beach and back - it was definitely a day for having the 'flap down' on my hat on the side facing the wind, and even then I got a bit of earache on the other ear. Still lovely to do the walk though, and we saw this Little Egret, a skylark camouflaged on the ground, a grebe on the sea (which was a surprise) and a gull posing nicely on the beach. I stayed on for a talk I'd booked into, getting a cuppa to drink in the car as I had a bit of a wait - turned the radio on and got a surprise 'low battery' warning (my car is only five and a half months old and I plug in a solar battery maintainer when it's on the driveway!). So as I had an hour to wait, I drove off back to Holt, over to Fakenham, down to Blakeney and back to Cley to hopefully charge the battery a bit. 

The talk was incredibly interesting. It was by Steve Rowland of the RSPB and was about The East Coast Flyway, which was added by the UK Government to the UK tentative list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The Wash and the North Norfolk Coast are at the heart of the proposal due to their vital importance to migrating birds and wildlife. The site runs from the Humber to the Thames and is part of the East Atlantic Flyway for migrating birds. Here's some more info if you're interested:
https://worldheritageuk.org/world-heritage-sites-uk-list/tentative-list/east-atlantic-flyway/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.