YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Family Shop

A dull and grey day here in Newcastle and I took no photographs.  I looked in my vast collection of old photos and found this one.  It is of my Great Uncle Joe Stout ( the man on the left of the photo) who owned this butchers shop in the village of Dunston which is very close to the River Tyne.  

I don't know very much about him as he died before I was born.  I know he was married to Great Auntie Lizzie who I do remember and he had three daughters.  He also had a son called Little Joe who was in the merchant navy and was killed when his ship was sunk in the Atlantic.  Little Joe was only 19 years of age.  I remember my Grandma telling me that before she found out his mother had a dream that his ship had been sunk.  Such a sad story.  Joe's name is on the war memorial in Dunston.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.