Day at a Time

By Tweedy

The Scattered Orchard

The local environmental group secured some Net Zero funding to buy apple trees and  accessories such as mulch mats and tree guards. They're being given to anyone who lives round here and has room to plant a small bare root tree. We're nearly at the end of the planting season so things are being done quickly. The variety we've chosen is James Grieve. Here it is being planted in the garden. The beginnings of a dispersed orchard. Lovely. 

My tenuous link to IWD is that the trees were all grown, organically, by a woman based in Perthshire. I never really need a tenuous link as today is the birthday of one of my lifelong friends - a strong and powerful woman.

I'm off to Glasgow soon to meet a few former colleagues for lunch. I'm looking forward to a good meal and an excellent chat. I won't need much to eat tonight. It's so much colder today but I'm expecting it to be a bit brighter further west. 

The five year old had a great birthday yesterday. Her big sister was the Mystery Reader at nursery for World Book Day which was an extra treat. We also saw a photo of our grandson enjoying stories in the park. He chose the Cat in the Hat for his WBD book. 

Happy IWD and have a great weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.