There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Dancing Squirrel / Lights on Water / Fisherman

It was a warm, sunny, and spring-like day, in which we ranged far and wide, but it all began with this squirrel, who came up onto our deck first thing in the morning and put on quite a show. Yes, I know it looks like he is dancing! But he is actually taking a prolonged bath. We can't have any dirty squirrels around here now, can we?

My husband wanted to jog, so we went to Buffalo Run Park for that. The water shot in the extras, I took while standing on a little wooden bridge there. I liked how the light was on the water; or more like, how it seemed like it was INSIDE the water somehow, lighting it from within.

After that, we thought we'd go to Jim's in Bellefonte for takeout. But we discovered they were closed, and so we ended up at Bonfatto's for takeout instead. We sat in the car along Spring Creek at Fisherman's Paradise, eating our hoagies. Italian for him. Tuna for me, a treat I often enjoyed with my friend Ellen. (*lifts hoagie in salute* This one's for you, my Boot!)

I walked down to the little wooden bridge after I had eaten, and there were two fishermen there, the one standing on the bridge encouraging the other, and one along the creek tying a fly on. The second fisherman appears in the extras.

The water in Spring Creek was running wide and a bit muddy. It was pretty impressive, actually, and I thought about that famous Norman Maclean fisherman quote, about how all things merge into one and a river runs through it. On this day, it seemed like all of that was true! So let it be written. So let it be done.

I have three photos, so here are three soundtrack songs. First, for my "dancing" squirrel above, I thought it looked sorta like he was singing that YMCA song, so here it is: the Village People, with YMCA (oh, come ON; stand UP and do the hand motions!). Second, for my water lit from light within, I've got Bruce Springsteen, with This Little Light of Mine. And for my fisherman shot in the extras, on a very robust flowing Spring Creek, here are the Indigo Girls, Jewel, and Sarah McLachlan, with Water Is Wide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.