The Iron City Salad That Almost Wasn't

Iron city salad. Mixed greens with an assortment of vegetables, fries, and cheddar cheese, with ranch dressing. $8. Courtesy of Olde New York.

When my husband came back inside in the morning after feeding the birds, he shared the sad news that our steps and drive way were slippery and unsafe. We didn't get a lot of snow the night before, but there was a tiny layer of ice underneath. The steps were a nightmare.

I had plans for the day, but it looked like my lunch date with friends was off. I sent them a sad email, told them to go without me; started to feel like Cinderella, denied my turn at the ball.

But then the sun came out, and it melted almost everything. The ice went away, and my husband said, Well, conditions seemed much better out. Did I want to try for lunch with my friends?

So in to town we went. I didn't send my friends a note because I wanted to surprise them, and I sure did. When I walked into Olde New York, there was a chorus of glee. I felt like the prodigal son. Or maybe daughter. Or friend.

Yes, I was able to make it!!! Hooray for time with dear friends! I loved seeing the looks on their faces when they saw me! Above is a picture of my Iron City salad, topped with crispy fries. It is the salad that almost wasn't, and it was delectable.

Let's let this be my soundtrack song: Duran Duran, with Hungry Like the Wolf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.