Look Out

By chrisf

Table View

To Manchester this morning. I had an interesting walk around.

Passing Kendall’s (House of Fraser), I was curious to see what it now looked like inside, as the last time I entered must be the Christmas of 2019. The main entrance was blocked off (extra), the first side entrance was blocked off, but the second one was open so I walked in. It was bizarre. The ground floor is cosmetics and walking through I realised I was the only customer, staff all chatting amongst themselves. Down to the basement, I found one other customer. I beat a hasty retreat out of the place. The building is going to be converted to offices with retail units at ground level, so it’s clearly on borrowed time as a department store. Broken by online shopping.

I was meeting up for lunch with a friend. She WharsApp’d to say she would be a little late but had booked a table. So this is the view whilst I waited. “Home” is the best place in the city centre to see independent and arty films, I’ll have to visit again for that purpose sometime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.