Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Mount Rainier, WA at 20,000 feet

{ Back blip from yesterday's travel day }

We were getting comfortably settled in for our five hour flight from Newark to Los Angeles when it began.

Initially, there was only some occasional moaning, but the frequency and intensity quickly increased. Before long, we were regaled with a steady stream of shrieks, and shrill, high-pitched cries, and if I hadn't walked back to look with my own eyes, I would have told you someone was skinning cats alive in row 27. It was, of course, a very unhappy toddler whose robust lung capacity sustained her for our entire flight across the continent.

Our flight had several young mothers with small children in tow, and I applauded their patient efforts to keep them entertained and CONtained in one spot for so long. I remember my early cross country ventures when my boys were very small. Through no small miracle, both of them were calm, easy travelers, but even so, my ability to enjoy music, books, crossword puzzles and sleep, is greatly enhanced traveling solo.

You know you're in Washington State when jagged, snow-capped mountains begin sprouting through the clouds. Here we were at just shy 20,000 feet when handsome Mount Rainier, the tallest mountain in the state, appeared to the east.

It's good to be home, it's great to get off the airplanes, but best of all, it's wonderful to be with Richard again!

Climb every mountain.


A few travel day shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.