Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Back amidst the subdued excitement

This is possibly the earliest I have ever posted my blip entry. Though it is merely 8:10pm (PST), my body is telling me it is after 11pm (EST), so I decided I had better write this up before I become too tired.

What a contrast to be home in Bellingham, WA, the "City of Subdued Excitement", after nearly two weeks amidst the crowds and traffic, the heat and humidity, and the hustle and bustle of New Jersey and New York City, my childhood stomping ground. This recent trip was the first time I was actively blipping while traveling and it felt easy, and exciting to find blip topics to write about or to photograph. New York, to me, has always been a photographer's dream subject. It has so many sides, so many nooks and crannies, and best of all, so many people! It feels "easy" to take pictures of NYC.

Now, being home, I am feeling a bit uninspired, thinking to myself that there's nothing here to photograph compared to New York. How foolish. I'll get over it. I need to practice seeing my familiar surroundings with new eyes. I intend to put into practice some of the concepts I've gleaned from the folks at "The Practice of Contemplative Photography", concepts such as viewing my world in a straightforward, inquisitive manner, without struggle, without infusing anything more to make the image more dramatic. What I think this means is that I want to capture what I see with simplicity, so the image, with its tones and colors and textures, speaks for itself.

We'll see what comes of this!


Get your subdued excitement right here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.