West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Graduation Day

Today I am afraid I am the subject not the shooter, that honour went to Mimi, hold the camera I said while I have a picture taken with Kirsty.... kids!!!!

Lord Hope of Craighead, Chancellor, announced his retirement on Wednesday. Lord Hope of Craighead, 75, retired as deputy president of the Supreme Court, Britain's highest court. He was previously Lord President of the Court of Session and Lord Justice General.

As David Hope, he was called to the Bar in 1965, becoming a QC in 1978. He was elected Dean of the Faculty of Advocates in 1986. The current Dean of the Faculty of Advocates, Richard Keen, QC, paid tribute to Lord Hope at the ceremony in London. He said: Lord Hope has illuminated the law with intelligence and the care and industry he brought to bear in every case in which he appeared.

Walking across the stage to graduate it hit me that the man before me was probably the greatest legal mind of his generation, eloquent, erudite and measured in his judgements, during my studies I have always sought out his judgements, they are always interesting to read and insightful although I do not always agree with him!!! As he shook my hand and congratulated me it was obvious he took pleasure in being there, in giving back to the students and sharing the moment with them with a kind word.

Today was a special day, her I am with my study buddy Kirsty as we finally conquered the mountain ans Graduated with our Bachelor of Laws. Please excuse my indulgence for today, my journal needed to reflect this day albeit tinged with a sadness, today was Matt's funeral and I was unable to attend, that I am afraid made me, sad I could not be there to support my friend but they were in my thoughts and in my heart, the place I hold my few close friends always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.