madwill's world

By madwill

Mini Mossy World

I found this little clump of moss growing on a boulder..I like the red stems and the bright green sporangia.

It was quite gloomy this morning while I was out. I did need a bit of extra light on this subject…courtesy of my little LED panel.

Model making progress is slow….sadly the kit I am working on does not fit together very well. Since I started making these plastic model kits I have bought Tamiya products and the moulding and fit has been superb.

I was lured into buying an Airfix Lancaster bomber kit in their Black Friday sale…and I have to say it brings back all the difficulties I had when I made some kits as a lad. The plastic is much softer and thinner than Tamiya and several parts are badly warped..even some that are still on the sprues…so fitting the wings together and the two halves of the fuselage has been a nightmare…and the bomb bay doors don’t even fit properly!

There has been a lot of swearing, and a lot of tape used to tray and hold bits together, parts have been shaved and sanded to try and ease them in… and now I have had to resort to ‘plastic putty’…essentially Polyfilla for modelling…to fill in some big gaps! I am glad it wasn’t an expensive model.

I think I am almost ready to prime the model before painting….watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.