SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Penalties

When I say that I love Manchester, one thing I refer to is the juxtaposition and combination of quality 19th Century and modern buildings. On my way back from Old Trafford, this particular alignment formed before my eyes. 

Earlier I'd gone out to Salford well before kickoff, and explored the area west of the stadium. Following the Ship Canal, there were some appealing angles as I passed under a bridge (see extra) but it was dull, otherwise.

I then watched a strange game at Old Trafford. Almost in the Stretford End, I was in a good position to see the two United penalties given and scored but then, although there were lots of wayward attempts from Everton, United never looked like losing. If Garnacho improves his decision-making he's going to be good. What might have been a third United penalty in the last minute of the game was too far from me to see, but we all shouted for it!

After the match I walked back into Manchester, largely following the Irwell, and it was pleasant, with the sun having broken through. I then found a bar in the Northern Quarter, that was showing the rugby, and wasn't packed. What a fantastic game, with a wonderful "walk-off" victory. That it was to an England side playing well against the best team in Europe, was almost incidental, but very satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.