SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Canals

After checking out of my hotel at 09:30, I still had five hours until my train, so I decided to explore a little of the east side of Manchester. My route was guided by a combination of walking somewhere interesting, and taking Turf zones. I headed out on the Rochdale Canal, and had aimed to go past the Etihad Stadium and follow the Ashton Canal. After stumbling on this incredible example of 1904 brickwork - they clearly expected that the "Droylsden Industrial Co-operative Society Limited" would endure forever! - the Etihad came into sight. However, reaching the canal tow path proved rather difficult. 

In unknown areas I make use of Naviki, which shows footpaths and cycle routes in fine detail, and also has the Turf zones. However, thanks to it having a zone marked on the wrong side of the Ashton Canal, I ended up in the wholly abandoned Ashton Canal Park. A semi-wooded wasteland, it is probably a haven for wildlife! Getting from there to the right side of the canal was then ruled out by the proliferation of security fencing around the Etihad Campus and National Cycling Centre. Hence I headed straight for Clayton Park, and walked back into the city along the River Medlock and the right side  of the Ashton canal. 

Knowing that the canals are workable, it was fascinating to see how they and their tow paths negotiate the city centre - below the level of the streets. I emerged at the end of Canal Street - the main road of the gay village - and made sure that I paid homage to Turing, whose "statue on a bench" is in Sackville Gardens. After that, I gradually made my way to Piccadilly, lunch, and a train back to Edinburgh. 

Tomorrow I expect to find out what reaction I get to having pulled out of giving a seminar in Southampton in May. I found out on Saturday the group I'd be speaking to has a defence-based multi-PhD programme that is partly funded by the UK's main defence consultancy company. The odd academic taking defence money is one thing, but something on this scale implies that the whole group is OK with it. They just aren't people I want to mix with. They've already paid for my travel - so I hope they don't expect me to reimburse them. Perhaps the better idea would be to go and call them out in my seminar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.