Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

BACK IN TIME

I decided to go to Lidl today so I got the bus to Swalwell.  My route to Lidl took me down the street you can see in my blip.  Its the street where I was living on 9th March 1982 - which was my wedding day. Its where we lived when Becky was born later that year but we moved  in 1984 - about 2 months before Neil came along.  We moved to the house where I still live. 

We got married in Gateshead Registry Office and the weather was nice enough for me, my new husband and the 5 guests to walk across the Tyne Bridge and down to the Quayside in Newcastle.  We went to a pub called The Newcastle Arms ( its changed its name since then and is now called The Bridge Tavern ) Some of our work colleagues were waiting for us there ( the office was quite near to the pub ).  We were just supposed to have drinks but the landlady surprised us by laying on some food... and a cake. Happy memories of 42 years ago today. Wedding photo in Extras. .  (Douglas passed away in 2001 so I had 19 years of married life.)

The weather today was not very nice - it was dull and cold so I was glad to get inside Lidl.  Haven't been for a while so I took my time looking round.  Then I got a bus to MetrOasis - its a retail park just outside The Metrocentre.  I went into B & M Bargains - another shop I haven't been to for a while.  Got some cat food, dog treats and some grocery items.  Then I crossed the road to wait for a bus home.  The app said there would be a bus in 6 mins.  However it was more like 26 mins when it finally turned up.  ( I think there must have been a bus missed out ) As this bus had come from the Metrocentre it was already full so I had to stand for a few stops. 

Just had a quiet evening watching TV.

Steps today - 6,762

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.